Making a figure

This is something I hadn’t done before but I felt it was really important to learn the skills, as a figure can really help someone to understand the dimensions of a model box. Kate gave us a brief introduction to model making, with some tips on materials to use, so I decided on the method of using wire, miliput and masking tape.

I started out by measuring out the 1:25 height of a male and female, and then created the basic stick figure in wire. I added the miliput which I found to be quite dense, so I added small bits at a time so the figures weren’t too bulky.

Once the figures were in shape and hardened, I added masking tape for a rough outline of clothing, and then painted on the details.

Leave a Reply

